Monday, Jul 24, 2017

Today's Hours: 8:00am - 8:00pm

All Hours

Browse an A-Z list of the library's databases. To view the databases by subject, visit our Subject Research Guides

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more from works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. It is based on the English Short Title Catalogue.

The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.

A multi-disciplinary database which provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies) Humanities E-Book is a collaboration among 20 learned societies, over 100 publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences. Legacy Archives provides full-text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the ACS from 1879 to 1995.

Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years. 

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library (NAL), as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The records describe resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. AGRICOLA does not contain full-text, but thousands of its records are linked to full-text documents online. This resource is organized into two bibliographic data sets: 1)The NAL Online Public Access Catalog contains citations to books, audiovisuals, serials, and other materials, most of which are in the Library's collection & 2)The Article Citation Database includes citations, many with abstracts, to journal articles (see Journals Indexed in AGRICOLA), book chapters, reports, and reprints, selected primarily from the materials found in the NAL Catalog.

 AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly. 

This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, providing in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas. It offers full text articles from international and often peer-reviewed journals and reports, as well as pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990 .

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.

American Indian History Online offers access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history through event and topic entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, legends, primary sources, and timeline entries. This database allows for an interactive, multifaceted look at the indigenous peoples of North and South America.

This resource has an exclusive focus on American denominational newspapers during the age of religion. It includes more than 320 newspapers from 30-plus states, all published between 1799 and 1900 with important commentary on such social issues as slavery, women’s suffrage and the Temperance movement. 

Provided by the South Dakota State Library, The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection.

Ancient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of eight civilizations-ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, and ancient and medieval Asia covering prehistory through the 1500s.

Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) is the American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A-E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893-2006. Each January, another year is added to the archive. In addition, the library has subscriptions to the current issues of Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A.

ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Digital archive of the Argus Leader beginning in 2010.

Search the full-text of the Argus Leader from Dec 2002 - present.

Hosted by the South Dakota Library Network (SDLN) and created by librarians at SDSU, this resource indexes locally written articles from the Argus Leader.

Hosted by the South Dakota Library Network (SDLN) and created by librarians at SDSU, this resource indexes locally written articles from the Argus Leader.

A guide for research in Art and Anthropology.  Find the best databases and e-books for your research and connect with your librarian!

Search Literature Resource Center and LitFinder in one place. Users can find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world and locate the full-text of literary works, including poems, short stories, novels, essays, plays and speeches.

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes.  ARTstor Moble: If you do not have a registered account, go to ARTstor from your computer and register for a personal ARTstor account. On your mobile device (iPhone, iPad, iPod touch), go to mobile.artstor.org. Using an Android device?  Check out these instructions.

The ATLA Historical Monographs Collection consists of two series that provide access to more than 29,000 titles—or more than 10 million pages—focused on religion and theology. Dating mostly from 1850 through 1923, a time of great doctrinal, social and organizational turmoil and upheaval in American culture, this resource is vital for scholars seeking to understand religious thought and practice in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

AtoZ the World consists of 175 Country Guides of 100+ topics each including culture, government, education, business culture, news feeds, maps and more.

The Augustana Album is a digital archive allowing viewers to travel through history in the pages of the EDDA, the Mirror, and The Augustana Today. 

 The student newspaper of Augustana College.

A guide for research in Biology.  Find the best databases, e-books, and podcasts for your research and connect with your librarian!

BioOne offers a unique aggregation of full-text, high-impact bioscience journals and other scholarly material. Focusing on the fields of organismal and integrative biology, ecology, and environmental science, BioOne is home to various not-for-profit societies and institutional publishers from around the world.

BIOSIS Previews (ISI) is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas. It also covers references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, ecology and interdisciplinary fields including medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology.

A guide for research in Business Administration and Accounting.  Find the best databases for your research and connect with your librarian!

Providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles, Business Source Premier covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. It is updated daily.

OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online is the product of a partnership between ATLA (American Theological Library Association) and the Catholic Library Association. The database covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.

Full-text access to the journal, Cell.

A guide for research in Chemistry.  Find the best databases, books and current news for your research and connect with your librarian!

The South Dakota State Library provides statewide access to Chilton's LibraryChiltonLibrary  which puts automotive do-it-yourselfers in the driver’s seat by placing their authoritative manuals online with monthly updates. It covers thousands of domestic and imported car, truck, van and SUV models from 1940-present and includes repair, maintenance and specification tables. No other source contains more years, makes and models.

Users will benefit from these features:

  • Parts finder: helps users locate hard-to-find parts
  • Simplicity: detailed, step-by-step give do-it-yourselfers all the necessary information in one place.
  • In-depth information: includes diagnostic trouble codes, descriptions, probable causes, step-by-step routines, specifications and troubleshooting guide
  • Multimedia content: exclusive videos and animated graphics help to explain system operations
  • Photographs: Includes close-up photographs and illustrations
  • Diagrams: Vacuum and wiring diagrams help explain complex system operation

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. ***Off-campus access: Users must set up a personal account ON CAMPUS in order to use this resource from off-campus. Click on the "remote access" link in the left navigation bar to create the account. ***

CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.

CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. This resource provides access to more than 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages with information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.

Provides coverage of more than 500 journals in the communication and mass media fields, including full-text for more than 230 journals. Coverage for significant titles in the field goes back to their very first issue (as far back as 1915).

A guide for research in Communications and Theatre highlighting databases and ebooks and link to contact your librarian!

This database is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides full text content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

Contemporary Literary Criticism--Select is an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC--Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study. This database allows users to search by author name, title of work, nationality, subject/genre, ethnicity, critic name, and more.

A weekly news magazine featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983, including: a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.

A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service. The collection includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of world's the best reference publishers. Credo’s collection contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.

DLB provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Student Services and Mikkelsen Library have partnered to offer the campus an educational site license for the New York Times (NYT) which includes a special service tailored for college curriculum called New York Times in Education. Access includes the New York Times Digital edition as well as the International, Spanish, and Chinese editions. The NY Times Digital includes articles from 1851 to present, with some expceptions. Access to archived articles between 1923-1980 is limited. This does not include the crosswords or Times Insider.

Please note that you MUST be authenticated (using your login on campus or via proxy off-campus) to create your account.  After that, you can access the resource from any of your devices from any location. Registration and login information.

Digital Theatre Plus shares the best of British theatre with teachers and students all over the world. It captures the moments before the curtain rises and after the curtain falls, providing valuable insight into the play making process. The resource provides access to the hidden drama of the weeks, days, and hours before ‘lights up’ on stage. By revealing the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, our documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form.

EasyBib allows users to save and manage citations in APA, MLA, or Chicago/Turabian styles. It also includes the ability to create outlines and virtual note cards to assist with the writing process. Augustana and Seminary students and faculty need a code to register. Contact the library - augielibrarians@augie.edu

Academic Complete is a highly interactive eBook database from ebrary® that covers all academic subject areas. The collection currently includes more than 50,000 titles from more than 220 of the world’s leading academic, STM, and professional publishers.  A small web browser plug-in, the eBrary reader, allows users to store books on a personal bookshelf, highlight text, and more!

A collection of electronic books -- 5,800+ from academic/trade publishers and 2,900+ from the public domain. Books may be previewed for 15 minutes.

A multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,100 total publications and indexing & abstracting for nearly 24,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains more than 85,800 biographies, 118,000 primary source documents, 10,150 company profiles and an image collection of more than 502,000 photos, maps and flags. EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO's Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.

A guide for research in Economics.  Find the best databases, books, and media for your research and connect with your librarian!

A guide for research in Education.  Find the best databases, books, and websites for your research and connect with your librarian!

A guide for research in English.  Find the best databases, books, and e-books, for your research and connect with your librarian!

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage from 1966- present of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Links are provided when full text is available.

A guide for research in Exercise & Sport Sciences.  Find the best databases, general resources, and current news for your research and connect with your librarian!

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows viewers to access streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Films on Demand has 5,600 full length videos and 62,500 clips on all kinds of topics.  Faculty and students can integrate video clips into their presentations as well as watch full-length videos on a wide variety of topics.

This database provides encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

A guide for research in Government.  Find the best databases, books, and media for your research and connect with your librarian!

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts, as well as Open Access full text.

This database is a rich collection of full text consumer health information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

This database provides scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers generic, and many brand name, drug patient education sheets.

HeritageQuest Online provides searchers with a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. With the entire U.S. Federal Census, PERSI™, Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension Records, and other expanding collections, HeritageQuest Online gives searchers the opportunity to tap into one of the largest collections of genealogy material in the country.

A guide for research in History.  Find the best databases, books, e-books, internet and regional sources for your research and connect with your librarian!

Search multiple history reference sources including African-American History, American History, American Indian History, Ancient & Medieval History and Modern World History.

Indexes articles published from 1996 - June 2003.

InteLex Corporation's Past Masters series encompasses the world's largest collection of full-text electronic editions in philosophy. Augustana subscribes to the portion containing the works of Charles Peirce, American philosopher, mathematician, logician, and scientist.

IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.

JSTOR includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire archive is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service that includes access to titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. 

LearningExpress Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorials including Praxis I & II, graduate school entrance exams, and resume/interviewing success skills. LearningExpress Library's resources are organized by the following topics: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, College Preparation, College Students, GED Preparation, Job Search & Workplace Skills, Jobs & Careers, Skill Building for Adults, U.S. Citizenship, and Recursos para Hispanohablantes.

LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. The comprehensive news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. The Company Dossier module provides detailed company information and financial performance measures. This database also provides access to Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.

Locate books, videos/DVDs, sound recordings, journals/magazines/newspapers & government documents available at Mikkelsen Library and other libraries throughout the United States and the world.

LISTA indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Search Literature Resource Center and LitFinder in one place. Users can find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world and locate the full-text of literary works, including poems, short stories, novels, essays, plays and speeches.

The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. The digital Loeb Classical Library extends this mission into the twenty-first century. Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb's vision of accessibility and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.

A digitized collection of several thousand classic texts from seminary libraries, this collection is searchable by author, title, or Biblical passage. Titles are being added continually.

The LWW Collection includes full-text access to ACSM's Health & Fitness Journal, Advances in Nursing Science, American Journal of Nursing, JONA's Healthcare Law, Ethics, and Regulation, Journal of Neuroscience Nursing, JONA: The Journal of Nursing Administration, Journal of Public Health Management and Practice, Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research, MCN - The American, Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing, Nursing, Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise, Nursing, Nurse Educator, Nursing, & Nursing Research.

The South Dakota State Library provides statewide access to Mango Languages  which offers courses in more than 60 languages to allow users to learn, listen and speak their chosen languages. Courses for English learners begin in the student’s native language and teach English. Basic courses teach simple, practical skills for common conversation, and Complete 2.0 courses dive into in-depth language and grammar skills. The courses focus on four key areas of language learning: vocabulary, grammar, pronunciation and culture. A mobile version lets users learn wherever they have Internet access.

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for many popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra - School Edition also provides full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags, color PDFs. Also included are expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. Updated daily.

MathSciNet is a database from the American Mathematical Society (AMS) that contains 2.8 million reviews and abstracts from math publications (1.6 million of these have direct links to the article or item!)  It connects you to online versions of several mathematical resources.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.

Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing, with its comprehensive guide to contemporary instruments. Designed for novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for the evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.

In addition to popular middle school magazines, Middle Search Plus provides full text for thousands of biographies and historical essays, primary source documents, plus a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).

Produced by the Modern Language Association, MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.

A guide for research in Modern Foreign Languages.  Find the best databases and internet sites for your research and connect with your librarian!

Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.

A guide for research in Music.  Find the best databases, scores, streaming media and web sites for your research and connect with your librarian!

ProQuest National Newspapers provides access to the most read and respected papers in the U.S. including: The New York Times (1980-present) - the paper of record in the U.S., best known for its analysis of news, issues and social changes; The Wall Street Journal (1984-present) - the single most authoritative source of global and national business reporting; Washington Post (1987-present) - inside-the-beltway coverage of politics and highly respected investigative journalism; Los Angeles Times (1985-present) - the perspective of the American West, lauded for its coverage of immigration, entertainment, and environmental issues; Christian Science Monitor (1988-present) - balanced, objective reporting from the most respected field journalists in the industry.

Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public. The South Dakota BRIN grant provides subscriptions to the following titles from The Nature Publishing Group: British Journal of Cancer, Cell Death & Differentiation, The Embo Journal, Embo Reports, Heredity, Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism, Journal of Perinatology, Laboratory Investigation, Molecular Psychiatry, Nature, Nature Biotechnology, Nature Cell Biology, Nature Genetics, Nature Immunology, Nature Medicine, Nature Neuroscience, Nature Reviews Cancer, Nature Reviews Genetics, Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology, Nature Reviews Neuroscience, and Oncogene. Nature.com also features podcasts. To listen to any Nature.com podcast just go to the nature.com podcast index page and select your choice of podcast from the list of various topics such as climate change, heredity, cancer, eye health, neuroscience, and physics.

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library with new CDs being added every month. It offers streaming access to CDs, as well as educational text resources including synopses of operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, a glossary of musical terms, work details and analyses for many major works, MENC-based music curriculum for grades K-12, music history audio books, and more. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Naïve, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX and, of course, Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz and contemporary rock content.

Naxos Music Library Jazz offers a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented. The recordings  come from over 250 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others. Over 9,000 albums (100,000 tracks) are available and new albums are added weekly.

Naxos Music Library World offers a wide range of World music, from legendary historical musical performances to contemporary world music. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented.

  • Over 1,500 cultural groups represented
  • Music from over 150 countries
  • Search profoundly with a meta-data driven Advanced Search

New Testament Abstracts Online is a research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.

The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.  It is a combination of NY Times Historical (1851-2007) and NY Times Current (1980-present).

Student Services and Mikkelsen Library have partnered to offer the campus an educational site license for the New York Times (NYT) which includes a special service tailored for college curriculum called New York Times in Education. Access includes the New York Times Digital edition as well as the International, Spanish, and Chinese editions. The NY Times Digital includes articles from 1851 to present, with some expceptions. Access to archived articles between 1923-1980 is limited. This does notinclude the crosswords or Times Insider.

Please note that you MUST be authenticated (using your login on campus or via proxy off-campus) to create your account.  After that, you can access the resource from any of your devices from any location.

Registration and login information.

Provides both educators and students the ability to make the most of NYTimes.com's digital 24/7 content, faculty contributions, curated NY Times articles, custom news alerts, co-curricular activities and weekly digests in several major subject areas including American Government, Biology, Business, Economics, International Relations, Psychology, Religious Studies, Writing & English Composition and more.

Registration and login information.

A guide for research in Nursing.  Find the best databases, books/e-books, media and websites for your research and connect with your librarian!

Old Testament Abstracts Online features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and more.

Oxford Art Online provides access to the Encyclopedia of Art which includes more than 45,000 signed articles and biographies on painting, sculpture, architecture, decorative arts, textiles, jewelry, design, photography, and other art and art history topics. There are links to 6,000 art images, maps, and line drawings from major collections such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art (New York), and the British Museum as well as to more than 40,000 to images on museum and gallery websites. Users will find links to ARTstor. Access to The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms are also included.

The definitive record of English language development, OED traces the evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources.

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Oxford Music Online also features Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th edition (2006), the comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music. EPM is the authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present.

The full-text of over 200 trusted references sources from Oxford University Press. These titles cover a wide spectrum of subjects from Archaeology to Literature and Medicine & Health to Society & Culture.

Philosopher's Index is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher's Index features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews and contains research published since 1940.

A guide for research in Philosophy.  Find the best databases, general sources and e-books for your research and connect with your librarian!

Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) is the American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A-E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893-2006. Each January, another year is added to the archive. In addition, the library has subscriptions to the current issues of Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A.

A guide for research in Physics.  Find the best databases and current information for your research and connect with your librarian!

This database is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.

A collection of comprehensive country profiles chronicling each nation's political history, government, leadership, elections, and political parties that includes profiles of intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.

Primary Search provides full text for many popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Project MUSE provides 100% full-text, online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. The journals are heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently, MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.

Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

 The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

A guide for research in Psychology.  Find the best databases, books/e-books, general reference and web sites for your research and connect with your librarian!

PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

PubMed comprises approximately 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

 ReferenceUSA provides access to 3 databases

  • U.S. Businesses - Information for over 24 million US Businesses. The database is updated monthly.
  • U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles - A database of over 262 million US consumers. Records are continuously updated and processed against the USPS National Change of Address (NCOA) and Delivery Sequence File (DSF).
  • U.S. Jobs/Internships - A combination of ReferenceUSA and the job site, indeed.com.

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily.

A guide for research in Religion.  Find the best databases, e-books, and general resources  for your research and connect with your librarian!

The collection includes the topics such as

Discovery and exploration of the Americas — accounts from British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, and Danish explorers and adventurers
Colonization — features both American and European views and firsthand accounts of colonial life
Slavery — memoirs, original speeches, lectures, sermons, discourses, reports to legislatures across America, pamphlets, books, and international essays
Cities and states — the social and political evolution of America's major cities and states
Civil War — a wide array of memoirs, political tracts, published legislative proceedings, and broadsides
Reconstruction — records that describe the reorganization and re-establishment of the seceded states in the Union after the Civil War
American women — education, civil rights, domestic life, and employment
Native Americans — essays, booklets, treaties, land tracts, congressional speeches, journals, and letters that document social attitudes and personal experiences
Immigration — pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, articles, and books
Constitution — pamphlets, letters, speeches, and essays provide detailed information about the early political organization of the American colonies

The SAGE Journals Online provide access to some of the most popular peer- reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides digital access to the large-scale maps of South Dakota towns and cities. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of South Dakota cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

Science Online is one of the world's leading journals of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. Science is published by The American Association for the Advancement of Science, "Triple A-S" (AAAS), an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. Science's weekly podcast takes you on a tour of some interesting stories in the journal and on its sister sites. You can listen to these audiocasts on your own computer simply by clicking on the "Listen to MP3" links. If you use a podcast aggregator like iTunes or Juice, you can subscribe to the podcast feed to automatically download the files for syncing to portable audio devices.

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

ScienceDirect® is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology, and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Access is funded by the South Dakota BRIN grant and includes full-text to selected Elsevier titles held by the University of South Dakota.

SciFinder Scholar contains Chemistry abstract & Medline literature from Literature from 1907 to the present plus selected pre-1907 references. Sources include journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more. To search SciFinder Scholar, students/faculty must request a registration URL from Lisa Brunick (605.274.4921)  Mobile version available at https://scifinder.cas.org/mobile

A guide for research for Sioux Falls Seminary courses.  Find the best databases, books/e-books, media and web sites for your research and connect with a librarian!

Discoverer includes articles and graphics from domestic and international magazines and newspapers, and U.S. government documents, all for middle and elementary curriculum topics.

Issues Researcher is a general reference database containing full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from domestic and international publications, and are indexed according to Library of Congress subject headings.

This resource includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

  • Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition
  • Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
  • Part III: The Institution of Slavery
  • Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. 

 

This HeinOnline collection brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The collection has

  • hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it
  • every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere.
  • more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century
  • word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880.
  • many modern histories of slavery including all modern law review articles on slavery

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. This database contains informative abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals.

Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included, and searchable cited references are provided. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 870 journals dating back to 1908.

A guide for research in Sociology.  Find the best databases, books/e-books, and web sites for your research and connect with your librarian!

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

This database provides indexing and abstracts for mostly peer-reviewed periodicals. Topics include: assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science, mathematics, and teacher education.

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2010. 

The five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and global events.

Includes access to the Sioux Falls Argus Leader, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Des Moines Register and other regional newspapers.

Science Citation Index includes bibliographic information for all scientific and technical disciplines, including the medical sciences. Full text links are available for journals to which the Augie library subscribes through the Full-Text from Publisher link.

Wiley Online Library (formerly InterScience) is an online service that provides access to articles across the many journals published by Wiley and is one of the world's premiere resources for study, teaching and advanced research. Access to Wiley Interscience is subsidized by the South Dakota BRIN grant and includes the titles found at http://www.usd.edu/library/upload/Wiley-Interscience-List-2010.pdf

Designed for high school and college students, World Book Advanced is a powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedic, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search. It also contains individual accounts that allow users to create and save their work and timeline and citation builders.

Search the holdings of OCLC member libraries from around the world to locate books, videos/dvds, journals/magazines/newspapers, websites/internet resources, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, musical scores, and films/slides.

WorldCat Local is the single search that connects you to all Mikkelsen Library materials as well as to the holding of libraries worldwide. It displays multiple types of library resources, formats and locations in a single relevancy-ranked results set. 

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.