Thursday, Nov 23, 2017

Today's Hours: Closed

All Hours

Databases: A

Browse an A-Z list of the library's databases. To view the databases by subject, visit our Subject Research Guides

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A multi-disciplinary database which provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies) Humanities E-Book is a collaboration among 20 learned societies, over 100 publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences. Legacy Archives provides full-text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the ACS from 1879 to 1995.

Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years. 

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library (NAL), as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The records describe resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. AGRICOLA does not contain full-text, but thousands of its records are linked to full-text documents online. This resource is organized into two bibliographic data sets: 1)The NAL Online Public Access Catalog contains citations to books, audiovisuals, serials, and other materials, most of which are in the Library's collection & 2)The Article Citation Database includes citations, many with abstracts, to journal articles (see Journals Indexed in AGRICOLA), book chapters, reports, and reprints, selected primarily from the materials found in the NAL Catalog.

 AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly. 

This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, providing in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas. It offers full text articles from international and often peer-reviewed journals and reports, as well as pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990 .

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.

American Indian History Online offers access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history through event and topic entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, legends, primary sources, and timeline entries. This database allows for an interactive, multifaceted look at the indigenous peoples of North and South America.

This resource has an exclusive focus on American denominational newspapers during the age of religion. It includes more than 320 newspapers from 30-plus states, all published between 1799 and 1900 with important commentary on such social issues as slavery, women’s suffrage and the Temperance movement. 

Provided by the South Dakota State Library, The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection.

Ancient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of eight civilizations-ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, and ancient and medieval Asia covering prehistory through the 1500s.

Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) is the American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A-E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893-2006. Each January, another year is added to the archive. In addition, the library has subscriptions to the current issues of Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A.

ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Digital archive of the Argus Leader beginning in 2010.

Search the full-text of the Argus Leader from Dec 2002 - present.

A guide for research in Art and Anthropology.  Find the best databases and e-books for your research and connect with your librarian!

Search Literature Resource Center and LitFinder in one place. Users can find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world and locate the full-text of literary works, including poems, short stories, novels, essays, plays and speeches.

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes.  ARTstor Moble: If you do not have a registered account, go to ARTstor from your computer and register for a personal ARTstor account. On your mobile device (iPhone, iPad, iPod touch), go to mobile.artstor.org. Using an Android device?  Check out these instructions.

The ATLA Historical Monographs Collection consists of two series that provide access to more than 29,000 titles—or more than 10 million pages—focused on religion and theology. Dating mostly from 1850 through 1923, a time of great doctrinal, social and organizational turmoil and upheaval in American culture, this resource is vital for scholars seeking to understand religious thought and practice in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

AtoZ the World consists of 175 Country Guides of 100+ topics each including culture, government, education, business culture, news feeds, maps and more.

The Augustana Album is a digital archive allowing viewers to travel through history in the pages of the EDDA, the Mirror, and The Augustana Today. 

 The student newspaper of Augustana College.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.