Monday, Jul 24, 2017

Today's Hours: 8:00am - 8:00pm

All Hours

Databases: M

Browse an A-Z list of the library's databases. To view the databases by subject, visit our Subject Research Guides

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

The South Dakota State Library provides statewide access to Mango Languages  which offers courses in more than 60 languages to allow users to learn, listen and speak their chosen languages. Courses for English learners begin in the student’s native language and teach English. Basic courses teach simple, practical skills for common conversation, and Complete 2.0 courses dive into in-depth language and grammar skills. The courses focus on four key areas of language learning: vocabulary, grammar, pronunciation and culture. A mobile version lets users learn wherever they have Internet access.

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for many popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra - School Edition also provides full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags, color PDFs. Also included are expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. Updated daily.

MathSciNet is a database from the American Mathematical Society (AMS) that contains 2.8 million reviews and abstracts from math publications (1.6 million of these have direct links to the article or item!)  It connects you to online versions of several mathematical resources.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.

Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing, with its comprehensive guide to contemporary instruments. Designed for novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for the evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.

In addition to popular middle school magazines, Middle Search Plus provides full text for thousands of biographies and historical essays, primary source documents, plus a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).

Produced by the Modern Language Association, MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.

A guide for research in Modern Foreign Languages.  Find the best databases and internet sites for your research and connect with your librarian!

Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.

A guide for research in Music.  Find the best databases, scores, streaming media and web sites for your research and connect with your librarian!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.