Thursday, Nov 23, 2017

Today's Hours: Closed

All Hours

Databases: N

Browse an A-Z list of the library's databases. To view the databases by subject, visit our Subject Research Guides

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

ProQuest National Newspapers provides access to the most read and respected papers in the U.S. including: The New York Times (1980-present) - the paper of record in the U.S., best known for its analysis of news, issues and social changes; The Wall Street Journal (1984-present) - the single most authoritative source of global and national business reporting; Washington Post (1987-present) - inside-the-beltway coverage of politics and highly respected investigative journalism; Los Angeles Times (1985-present) - the perspective of the American West, lauded for its coverage of immigration, entertainment, and environmental issues; Christian Science Monitor (1988-present) - balanced, objective reporting from the most respected field journalists in the industry.

Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public. The South Dakota BRIN grant provides subscriptions to the following titles from The Nature Publishing Group: British Journal of Cancer, Cell Death & Differentiation, The Embo Journal, Embo Reports, Heredity, Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism, Journal of Perinatology, Laboratory Investigation, Molecular Psychiatry, Nature, Nature Biotechnology, Nature Cell Biology, Nature Genetics, Nature Immunology, Nature Medicine, Nature Neuroscience, Nature Reviews Cancer, Nature Reviews Genetics, Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology, Nature Reviews Neuroscience, and Oncogene. Nature.com also features podcasts. To listen to any Nature.com podcast just go to the nature.com podcast index page and select your choice of podcast from the list of various topics such as climate change, heredity, cancer, eye health, neuroscience, and physics.

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library with new CDs being added every month. It offers streaming access to CDs, as well as educational text resources including synopses of operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, a glossary of musical terms, work details and analyses for many major works, MENC-based music curriculum for grades K-12, music history audio books, and more. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Naïve, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX and, of course, Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz and contemporary rock content.

Naxos Music Library Jazz offers a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented. The recordings  come from over 250 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others. Over 9,000 albums (100,000 tracks) are available and new albums are added weekly.

Naxos Music Library World offers a wide range of World music, from legendary historical musical performances to contemporary world music. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented.

  • Over 1,500 cultural groups represented
  • Music from over 150 countries
  • Search profoundly with a meta-data driven Advanced Search

New Testament Abstracts Online is a research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.

The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.  It is a combination of NY Times Historical (1851-2007) and NY Times Current (1980-present).

Student Services and Mikkelsen Library have partnered to offer the campus an educational site license for the New York Times (NYT) which includes a special service tailored for college curriculum called New York Times in Education. Access includes the New York Times Digital edition as well as the International, Spanish, and Chinese editions. The NY Times Digital includes articles from 1851 to present, with some expceptions. Access to archived articles between 1923-1980 is limited. This does notinclude the crosswords or Times Insider.

Please note that you MUST be authenticated (using your login on campus or via proxy off-campus) to create your account.  After that, you can access the resource from any of your devices from any location.

Registration and login information.

Provides both educators and students the ability to make the most of NYTimes.com's digital 24/7 content, faculty contributions, curated NY Times articles, custom news alerts, co-curricular activities and weekly digests in several major subject areas including American Government, Biology, Business, Economics, International Relations, Psychology, Religious Studies, Writing & English Composition and more.

Registration and login information.

The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.

A guide for research in Nursing.  Find the best databases, books/e-books, media and websites for your research and connect with your librarian!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.