Thursday, Mar 30, 2017

Today's Hours: 7:30am - 12:00am

All Hours

Databases: S

Browse an A-Z list of the library's databases. To view the databases by subject, visit our Subject Research Guides

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

The collection includes the topics such as

Discovery and exploration of the Americas — accounts from British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, and Danish explorers and adventurers
Colonization — features both American and European views and firsthand accounts of colonial life
Slavery — memoirs, original speeches, lectures, sermons, discourses, reports to legislatures across America, pamphlets, books, and international essays
Cities and states — the social and political evolution of America's major cities and states
Civil War — a wide array of memoirs, political tracts, published legislative proceedings, and broadsides
Reconstruction — records that describe the reorganization and re-establishment of the seceded states in the Union after the Civil War
American women — education, civil rights, domestic life, and employment
Native Americans — essays, booklets, treaties, land tracts, congressional speeches, journals, and letters that document social attitudes and personal experiences
Immigration — pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, articles, and books
Constitution — pamphlets, letters, speeches, and essays provide detailed information about the early political organization of the American colonies

The SAGE Journals Online provide access to some of the most popular peer- reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides digital access to the large-scale maps of South Dakota towns and cities. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of South Dakota cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

Science Online is one of the world's leading journals of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. Science is published by The American Association for the Advancement of Science, "Triple A-S" (AAAS), an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. Science's weekly podcast takes you on a tour of some interesting stories in the journal and on its sister sites. You can listen to these audiocasts on your own computer simply by clicking on the "Listen to MP3" links. If you use a podcast aggregator like iTunes or Juice, you can subscribe to the podcast feed to automatically download the files for syncing to portable audio devices.

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

ScienceDirect® is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology, and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Access is funded by the South Dakota BRIN grant and includes full-text to selected Elsevier titles held by the University of South Dakota.

SciFinder Scholar contains Chemistry abstract & Medline literature from Literature from 1907 to the present plus selected pre-1907 references. Sources include journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more. To search SciFinder Scholar, students/faculty must request a registration URL from Lisa Brunick (605.274.4921)  Mobile version available at https://scifinder.cas.org/mobile

A guide for research for Sioux Falls Seminary courses.  Find the best databases, books/e-books, media and web sites for your research and connect with a librarian!

Discoverer includes articles and graphics from domestic and international magazines and newspapers, and U.S. government documents, all for middle and elementary curriculum topics.

Issues Researcher is a general reference database containing full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from domestic and international publications, and are indexed according to Library of Congress subject headings.

This resource includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

  • Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition
  • Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
  • Part III: The Institution of Slavery
  • Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. 

 

This HeinOnline collection brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The collection has

  • hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it
  • every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere.
  • more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century
  • word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880.
  • many modern histories of slavery including all modern law review articles on slavery

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. This database contains informative abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals.

Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included, and searchable cited references are provided. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 870 journals dating back to 1908.

A guide for research in Sociology.  Find the best databases, books/e-books, and web sites for your research and connect with your librarian!

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.