Find Books & Media
-
Library Catalog Locate books, videos/DVDs, sound recordings, journals/magazines/newspapers & government documents available at Mikkelsen Library. Your search can be expanded to search libraries around the world.
Digital Resources
Dependable and cost-free electronic books for the Augustana community!
-
EBSCO e-books A collection of e-books focused on dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and reference books covering a variety of topics.
-
Ebook Central A growing and changing collection of 160,000+ e-books in many different academic subject areas including business, education, history, life sciences, medicine, psychology, religion and social sciences.
-
Films on Demand Films on Demand provides access to streaming videos in the Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health and Science.
General Databases
-
Academic Search Premier A multi-disciplinary database with full text in many topics including the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
-
ProQuest Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Best Bets
These are the best specialized databases for your work in History.
-
Ancient & Medieval History Ancient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of eight civilizations-ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, and ancient and medieval Asia covering prehistory through the 1500s.
-
JSTOR A digital archive includes more than 3,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.
-
Project Muse Full text access to a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
-
CREDO Reference A full-text online reference service, CREDO contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
Primary Sources
-
Avalon ProjectYale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library host this site that links to documents in law, history, and diplomacy.
