Get Started: Beginning your research with background information
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc. are often a great way to start your research. They can help you understand your research topic, define terms that may appear in scholarly journal articles, and gather background information to build context.
- CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window A full-text online reference service, CREDO contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
How Do I...?
- How Do I...?Answers for our most frequently asked questions (FAQs).
Beginning Your Research: General Article Resources
These resources provide access to magazine, newspaper and scholarly articles on a variety of topics.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database with full text in many topics including the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Books & ebooks
Scholarly Sources
These are the best specialized databases for your work in Philosophy or other philosophical research
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window A current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
- PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers.
- InteLex Past Masters: Charles Peirce This link opens in a new window Access to the Charles Peirce: Collected Papers and the Charles Peirce: Published Works I
- Ancient & Medieval History This link opens in a new window Ancient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of eight civilizations-ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, and ancient and medieval Asia covering prehistory through the 1500s.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Full text access to a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
- Films on Demand: Philosophy & Religion This link opens in a new window
Internet Sources
- PhilPapers PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy. Our index currently contains 2,607,822 entries categorized in 5,701 categories. PhilPapers has over 290,000 registered users.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook IMS is an extensive collection of primary sources for studying the ancient, medieval and Reformation periods (including writings by Augustine, Anselm, Aquinas, Luther and many others).
- Perseus Digital Library Classical Greek and Roman Resources, including texts, textual aids, and images.
