- INFORMATION FOR
- RESEARCH
- SERVICES
COMM 270: Get Started
Library Catalog
Locate books, videos/DVDs, sound recordings, journals/magazines/newspapers & government documents available at Mikkelsen Library. Your search can be expanded to search libraries around the world. Call numbers by floor: A-C Lower Level D-E Main Level F-Z Upper Level
E-Books
- EBSCO e-books This link opens in a new windowA collection of e-books focused on dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and reference books covering a variety of topics.
- CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
A full-text online reference service, CREDO contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA growing and changing collection of 160,000+ e-books in many different academic subject areas including business, education, history, life sciences, medicine, psychology, religion and social sciences.
Pro/Con, Newspaper Databases
- SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowA general reference database containing full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowProvids access to controversial topical essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.
- ProCon.org“To promote civility, critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting the pro and con arguments to debatable issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, freely accessible way.” -website
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles, documents, and other materials from newspapers, business and trade journals, general interest magazines, company reports, legal and tax documents.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowThe five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and global events.
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
General purpose databases of general/popular publications and scholarly journals. Includes information in many areas of academic study including the social sciences, humanities, general sciences, and education.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
MLA Citation Style
Edition 7: MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Reference LB 2369 .G53 2009Edition 8: MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Reference LB2369 .G53 2016Websites
- U.S. Census BureauThis site provides access to data from the most recent census at the state and local levels.
- Data.govData.gov provides access to governmental data sets with information ranging in areas from agriculture, education, to health.
- U.S. Department of CommerceFind data and reports from the U.S. Department of Commerce
Media Librarian
