"Mikkelsen Library serves as the information center for the Augustana University community through its development of a local collection, its access to other sources of information, its support of the instructional process, and its encouragement of independent learning and research."

We are here to help! The library is open over 85 hours per week! There is always a staff member available and librarians are scheduled at the reference desk M-Th 10am-5pm, 6pm-10pm, Fri 10am-3pm, and Sun 2pm - 5pm, 6pm-9pm. You can also reach us by chat, email, and phone (605.274.4921).

The library's collection includes over 263,000 books, 4,500 government documents, a great selection of DVD/Blu-Rays and a growing collection of board and card games. The library's website includes access to over 100 databases resources, 23,000 ebooks and 11,200 ejournals.

Stay connected and follow us on social media

Study Rooms

Twelve study rooms are available in the library. Ten rooms are located on the upper level and two rooms are located on the lower level. Each room includes a 55" LCD TV with the capability of connecting to laptops. All study rooms, except 304, have a whiteboard.

Study Room Guidelines

• Only Augustana or Sioux Falls Seminary students and staff may use the study rooms.
• Check out period is up to 3 hours.
• Reserve rooms online & check out the key at the front desk of the library.
• Reservations may be made for the current day and the next day. Individuals are limited to a maximum of 3 hours per day.
• There is a ten minute grace period for room reservations. If you miss your reservation by more than ten minutes, your reservation will be canceled.
• Please return the room key to the front desk when you leave.
• The Library staff is not responsible for personal items left unattended in the study rooms. Items left in a group study room past the time of the reservation will be collected and held at the front desk.
• Please be courteous to those around you. The study rooms are not sound proof. 

Interlibrary Loan

As part of  the Mikkelsen Library, the Interlibrary Loan Department works to facilitate and support the teaching, learning, and scholarship of Augustana University and Sioux Falls Seminary students. The Interlibrary Loan staff strive to provide accurate, timely, and consistent service in a courteous and informed manner in order to provide the best service to our users. Students and staff can place ILL orders by using the Interlibrary Loan link found in the library catalog and in many of the library's electronic databases/resources. Users can also e-mail augustanaill@gmail.com, or call the library at 605.274.4921. Printouts of requested items are also accepted at the Circulation Desk. The patron’s name and email or phone should be printed clearly on each printout. Most articles will be delivered electronically to the staff or student's e-mail address. E-mail is also used to notify users that their books or media ILLs are available to be picked up.

Media Services

Media Services provides students of  Augustana and the Sioux Falls Seminary with resources to design, create, and present their multimedia projects. Media Services and the Media Lab are located on the lower level of the library. 

Services offered include:

• Circulation Desk
  Check out books, DVDs, and other library material at the circulation desk in Media Services.
• Equipment checkout
  Digital cameras, camcorders, audio recorders, projectors and other equipment are available for checkout.
• The Media Lab
  Two iMac computers provide the tools to produce digital projects, including graphics and animation, digital audio and video, and multimedia authoring using a number of software programs. A green screen studio allows filming in front of a removable background. Two Windows computers are available for scanning. Both are supplied with assistive software for use by those with disabilities. A Merlin text enlarger is also available in the Media Lab. Recently added, is a microfilm reader/scanner.
• Training
  Media Services staff are available to train and assist in the use of AV equipment and Media Lab software. 
• Color printing
  Printers are available to produce prints in a variety of sizes from photos to large format posters.