Chemistry Reference Sources
- ChemSpider This free chemical database collates structure and property information from both experiments and predictions. Also includes curated list of literature and datasets relating to a chemical.
- Merck Index Online Search for information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
- NIST Chemistry WebBook Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program
- PubChem PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, 100th Ed.Call Number: Reference QD 65 .H3 ed.100 2019-20ISBN: 9781138367296
General Science Reference Sources
Search dictionaries of specialized terminology, overviews of contemporary and historical scientific research, and biographies of prominent scientists.
How Do I...?
- How Do I...?Answers for our most frequently asked questions (FAQs).
Scholarly Sources
- ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals & Legacy Archives This link opens in a new window Provides full text access to the current year in addition to the Legacy Archives for ACS titles.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window SciFindern (SFn) is a new and improved version of SciFinder that has an updated interface and search algorithm and provides the same great access to data and research users have historically enjoyed. SFn is mobile-friendly, offers more filter options, and includes an “All Search” function similar to Google.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text access to select journals in science, technology and medicine.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles across the many journals published by Wiley from 1996-present.
Open Access
- ACS Open Science ACS Publishes Twelve Fully Open Access Journals.
- ChemRxiv A free submission, distribution, and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.
- Chemical Information Sources Directory of selected Internet sites, reference sources, lecture notes, and instructional materials from Indiana University.
- Organic Chemistry Information: U of Wisconsin Madison A compilation of organic chemical information from the Hans Reich laboratory at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
- PLoS Chemistry PLOS ONE is an inclusive journal community working together to advance science for the benefit of society, now and in the future. Founded with the aim of accelerating the pace of scientific advancement and demonstrating its value, we believe all rigorous science needs to be published and discoverable, widely disseminated and freely accessible to all.
Journal Abbreviations
- Biological & Chemical Journal Abbreviations List of full journal titles and their approved abbreviations.
- CAS Source Index (CASSI) Use this free tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907
Drawing Software
Citing Your Sources - ACS
- CASSI: Journal Abbreviations Use this free tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907
Zotero Quick Box
Zotero helps you collect, manage, & cite sources.
For additional tutorials, visit our Zotero Guide.
