- INFORMATION FOR
- RESEARCH
- SERVICES
Economics: Get Started
A guide to using library resources to locate economics information.Getting Started: Background Resources
Credo Reference helps you start your research in business, finance, or economics with dictionaries of terms, historical and biographical materials, and information on best practices.
Research Process
How Do I?
- How Do I...? How do I see what's available at the library? How do I reserve a study room? How do I get items that aren't available at Mikkelsen Library? How do I check my library account and renew my items? How do I get help with my research? How do I access library resources from off-campus? How do I find an item that is on reserve for my class? How do I print in the library? How do I access the technology available at the library? How do I contact the library?
Beginning Your Research
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window General purpose databases of general/popular publications and scholarly journals. Includes information in many areas of academic study including the social sciences, humanities, general sciences, and education.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
- Films on Demand: Business & Economics This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides access to streaming videos in the Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health and Science.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new window The most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sitest--includes Argus Leader.
- SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window A general reference database containing full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas-health, history, government & law, science, education and business.
Beginning Your Research: Books
Digital Newspaper Access
- Wall Street Journal - Digital Access This link opens in a new windowTo set-up your account
Login to Duo Central
Select the Wall Street Journal - (SSO)
Create account & password
Receive a verification email - complete verification
You can now login via the website or app - New York Times - Digital This link opens in a new windowDigital access to the daily New York Times (NYT) as well as the International, Spanish, and Chinese editions.
The NY Times Digital includes articles from 1851 to present, with some exceptions. Access to archived articles between 1923-1980 is limited. This does not include the NYT Crossword Puzzle or the Times Insider.
Please note that you MUST be on-campus to create your account. After that, you can access the resource from any of your devices from any location.
Scholarly Resources
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowCovers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database provides full text back to 1886 for select titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA digital archive includes more than 3,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles, documents, and other materials from newspapers, business and trade journals, general interest magazines, company reports, legal and tax documents.
- Regional Business News Plus This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Wiley Online - Economics This link opens in a new windowProvides access to articles on Economics across the many journals published by Wiley from 1996-present.
Quantitative Economics
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new window Open access to 1,000,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics provided by the Cornell University library.
- JSTOR - Mathematics This link opens in a new window
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new window Publication of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text access to select journals in science, technology and medicine.
- Wiley Online - Computer Science This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Online - General Computing This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Online - MathematicsProvides access to articles on Mathematics across the many journals published by Wiley from 1996-present.
- Wiley Online - StatisticsProvides access to articles on Statistics across the many journals published by Wiley from 1996-present.
Additional Resources
Zotero
Zotero helps you collect, manage, & cite sources.For additional tutorials, visit our Zotero Guide.
Librarian
