Searching for Articles - FYS 110 - Hamilton - Mikkelsen Library at Augustana

Library Databases

Databases are searchable collections of information. The library pays for students and faculty to access over 75 databases consisting of written works published in journals, magazines, or newspapers. The majority of this information is not available for free on the web.

Library Databases - General

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
General purpose databases of general/popular publications and scholarly journals. Includes information in many areas of academic study including the social sciences, humanities, general sciences, and education.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

Library Databases - Scholarly

Multidisciplinary

Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to some of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles across the many journals published by Wiley from 1996-present.

Subject Specific

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines including psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
SocIndex with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Covers topics related to social psychology, social development and socio-cultural topics

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.