Wikimedia CommonsA media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone,
American Memory CollectionIncludes multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress's Americana collections. There are currently more than 100 collections in the American Memory Historical Collections.
Artstor via JSTORThis link opens in a new windowARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes.
Newberry Digital Collections for the Classroom are thematic collections of primary source documents selected from the Newberry’s extensive holdings. They are designed for easy incorporation into classroom teaching and support many of the skills emphasized by the Common Core State Standards.
This online archive and companion to the study, interpretation, and educational use of American maps of movement features more than 500 images of maps and accompanying text drawn from the extensive collections of the Newberry Library, from the European explorers’ maps to modern aviation cartography.
Out-of-copyright materials in NYPL Digital Collections are now available as high-resolution downloads. No permission required, no hoops to jump through: just go forth and reuse!
ArchiveGridThis link opens in a new windowIncludes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Europeana is a simple but powerful tool for finding resources from all over Europe. Books, journals, films, maps, photos, music etc. are available for everyone to consult – and to use, copyright permitting.