Skip to Main Content
US Government Accounting Resources
Bureau of the Fiscal Service Central Accounting Reporting System
The Central Accounting Reporting System (CARS), is the electronic system of record for the government’s financial data which provides streamlined agency reporting and supports government-wide standardization.
Along with Governmentwide Treasury Account Symbol Adjusted Trial Balance System (GTAS) and Intra-Governmental Payment and Collection (IPAC), CARS is a system which falls under Governmentwide Accounting (GWA).
Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board FASAB
The FASAB serves the public interest by improving federal financial reporting through issuing federal financial accounting standards and providing guidance after considering the needs of external and internal users of federal financial information.
Financial Crimes Enforcement Network FinCEN
FinCEN is a bureau of the U.S. Department of the Treasury. The Director of FinCEN is appointed by the Secretary of the Treasury and reports to the Treasury Under Secretary for Terrorism and Financial Intelligence. FinCEN’s mission is to safeguard the financial system from illicit use and combat money laundering and promote national security through the collection, analysis, and dissemination of financial intelligence and strategic use of financial authorities.
FRASER Economic History Digital Library
FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System.
Governmental Accounting Standards Board GASB
Established in 1984, the GASB is the independent, private-sector organization based in Norwalk, Connecticut, that establishes accounting and financial reporting standards for U.S. state and local governments that follow Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP).
IRS Resources for Tax Professionals
IRS Resources for Tax Professionals. Includes e-services, compliance information, and continuing education.
IRS Tax Code, Regulations, and Official Guidance
Text of Title 26 of the United States Code (26 U.S.C.).
Library of Congress Accounting & Auditing Resource Guide
This guide includes resources relating to accounting and auditing. The sources included constitute some of the more basic resources and assistance to get someone started. While we have included a few titles that are international in scope and focus on comparative accounting and International Financial Reporting Standards (IFERS), this guide is primarily concerned with accounting and auditing in the United States.
U.S. Government Accountability Office GAO Yellow Book
The Yellow Book is used by auditors of government entities, entities that receive government awards, and other audit organizations performing Yellow Book audits. It outlines the requirements for audit reports, professional qualifications for auditors, and audit organization quality control. Auditors of federal, state, and local government programs use these standards to perform their audits and produce their reports.
U.S. Security and Exchange Commission Regulations SEC
This page provides links to releases concerning SEC rulemaking activity, including concept releases, proposed rules, final rules, interpretive releases, and policy statements. It also links to announcements concerning SRO rulemaking, PCAOB rulemaking, instructions for Exchange Act Exemptive Applications, other Commission notices, and public petitions for rulemaking submitted to the SEC.
U.S. Security and Exchange Commission SEC EDGAR database
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
Online Accounting Resources
Accounting Coach
Free accounting resources for employees, bookkeepers, students, accountants, and small businesses.
American Accounting Association AAA
The American Accounting Association is the largest community of accountants in academia. Founded in 1916, we have a rich and reputable history built on leading-edge research and publications. The diversity of our membership creates a fertile environment for collaboration and innovation. Collectively, we shape the future of accounting through teaching, research and a powerful network, ensuring our position as thought leaders in accounting.
American Institute of CPAs AICPA
The American Institute of CPAs is the world’s largest member association representing the accounting profession, with 421,000 members in 130 countries. The AICPA provides educational guidance materials; develops and grades the Uniform CPA Examination; and monitors and enforces compliance within the profession. There are currently 669,000+ actively licensed CPAs around the globe.
Public Company Accounting Oversight Board PCAOB
The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board oversees the audits of public companies and SEC-registered brokers and dealers.
Rutgers Accounting Web
Since 1994, Rutgers Accounting Web has been the center of accounting research. We have hosted the American Accounting Association, the Academy of Accounting Historians, the Ph.D. Project, the Government Accounting Standards Board, and more.
Sustainability Accounting Standards Board SASB
SASB Standards guide the disclosure of financially material sustainability information by companies to their investors. Available for 77 industries, the Standards identify the subset of environmental, social, and governance (ESG) issues most relevant to financial performance in each industry.
Wiley Accounting YouTube Channel
YouTube Channel for accounting videos produced by Wiley Accounting. Wiley Accounting publishes products for every life-stage of the accounting discipline from faculty and students in higher education, to CPA, CIA, CMA and CFA exam candidates to professionals in public, government and corporate accounting as well as academic researchers.
Accounting Podcasts
Accounting Today
Listen in to in-depth discussions on the latest issues with thought leaders from around the profession.
Cloud Accounting Podcast
Join Blake Oliver, CPA and David Leary for a weekly news roundup at the intersection of accounting technology designed for accounting practice leaders serving small businesses.
From the Trenches
Real-world accounting insight from Australia.
The Journal of Accountancy Podcast
The AICPA presents the Journal of Accountancy podcast. Covers the key issues facing the accounting profession.
Business OER (Open Educational Resources)
Freely Accessible Business Journals
Freely Accessible Business Journals compiled by the Library of Congress.
MERLOT - Accounting
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons - Accounting
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
Open Textbook Library - Accounting
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.