- INFORMATION FOR
- RESEARCH
- SERVICES
Biology: Get Started
A guide to using library resources to locate biology information.Getting Started: Background Resources
Credo Reference helps you start your research in biology with dictionaries of specialized terminology, overviews of contemporary and historical research, and biographies of prominent biologists.
Research Process
How Do I?
- How Do I...? How do I see what's available at the library? How do I reserve a study room? How do I get items that aren't available at Mikkelsen Library? How do I check my library account and renew my items? How do I get help with my research? How do I access library resources from off-campus? How do I find an item that is on reserve for my class? How do I print in the library? How do I access the technology available at the library? How do I contact the library?
Beginning Your Research
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window General purpose databases of general/popular publications and scholarly journals. Includes information in many areas of academic study including the social sciences, humanities, general sciences, and education.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas-health, history, government & law, science, education and business.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. T
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
- Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Contains full text for science encyclopedias, reference books, & periodicals in the areas of biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Books and eBooks
Media
- Films on Demand: Biology This link opens in a new window
- Films on Demand: Earth Science This link opens in a new window
- Films on Demand: Environmental Science This link opens in a new window
- Films on Demand: Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- JoVE This link opens in a new windowVideo demonstrations of experiments with a detailed text protocol. Areas include
Biology, Neuroscience, Medicine, Genetics, Cancer Research, Immunology and Infection, Chemistry, Behavior, Environment, Developmental Biology, Biochemistry, and Science Education.
Scholarly Resources
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowFull text access to journals and other scholarly materials focusing on the fields of organismal and integrative biology, ecology, and environmental science.
- JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new windowJournals, e-books and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Research spans the Biological Sciences, Business & Economics, Ecology, Environmental Sciences, Law, Public Health, Urban Studies, and many other disciplines.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text access to select journals in science, technology and medicine.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowSciFindern (SFn) is a new and improved version of SciFinder that has an updated interface and search algorithm and provides the same great access to data and research users have historically enjoyed. SFn is mobile-friendly, offers more filter options, and includes an “All Search” function similar to Google.
- Wiley Online - General Life Sciences This link opens in a new windowProvides access to articles on life sciences across the many journals published by Wiley from 1996-present.
Biometrics
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new window Open access to 1,000,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics provided by the Cornell University library.
- JSTOR - Mathematics This link opens in a new window
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new window Publication of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text access to select journals in science, technology and medicine.
- Wiley Online - Computer Science This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Online - General Computing This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Online - MathematicsProvides access to articles on Mathematics across the many journals published by Wiley from 1996-present.
- Wiley Online - StatisticsProvides access to articles on Statistics across the many journals published by Wiley from 1996-present.
Additional Resources
- Mikkelsen Library Biology Additional Resources Mikkelsen Library guide for additional biology resources.
Citing Your Sources - AMA
Citing Your Sources - MLA
Zotero Quick Box
Zotero helps you collect, manage, & cite sources.For additional tutorials, visit our Zotero Guide.
Librarian
