Skip to Main Content
Business Statistics and Data
gofinfo Economic Indicators
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
International Monetary Fund Data Portal
The IMF Data Portal is the IMF’s new and improved dissemination platform that provides for greater data visualization and statistical tools. The suite of tools offered by the platform is extensive and strengthens the narrative and analysis of data and allows users to customize their data experience.
Koyfin - investment analytics platform
Koyfin is a financial data and analytics platform for researching stocks and understanding market trends. Our data coverage includes stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, FX, bonds, economics, news, and Twitter so you can have a god-like view of the markets. Koyfin is free, so go and try it!
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is a unit of the United States Department of Labor. It is the principal fact-finding agency for the U.S. government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics and serves as a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System.
U.S. Census Bureau Economic Census
Every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau collects extensive statistics about businesses that are essential to understanding the American economy. This official count, better known as the Economic Census, serves as the foundation for the measurement of U.S. businesses and their economic impact.
U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
World Bank Data Catalog
The Data Catalog is a project to provide a more effective means for capture, acquisition, curation, access and use of development-Data Catalog data throughout the World Bank Group. The goal is to maximize the value and investment in data by increasing the potential for the data to be shared and reused, to minimize transaction costs in finding relevant data and data methodologies, and to prevent duplication. The project builds on existing expertise and resources such as the Microdata Library,Open Data Catalog and GFDRR.
Online Business Resources
globalEDGE Insights by Industry
This is your source for international business-related resources, statistics, risk assessments, and events for 20 distinct industry sectors. You will find a wealth of information for each industry.
Harvey's Hypertextual Finance Glossary
Over 8,000 Entries and 18,000 Hyperlinks.
The largest financial glossary on the Internet.
Investor.gov Useful Websites
A list of websites run by federal agencies, state regulators, consumer groups and self-regulatory organizations that may be helpful to individual investors.
Library of Congress Business Resource Guides
Guides to print publications, subscription databases, and Internet sites useful for researching topics in business and economics created by subject experts in Business Reference Services at the Library of Congress.
Free Industrial Marketing Resources
And Procurement Guides from ThomasNet.
Trading Economics Forecasts
Trading Economics provides its users with forecasts for 20 million economic indicators from 196 countries.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR filings
New versatile tool lets you search for keywords and phrases in over 20 years of EDGAR filings, and filter by date, company, person, filing category, or location.
Wharton Faculty Research
Wharton's faculty members generate the intellectual innovations that fuel business growth around the world. Actively engaged with the leading global companies, governments, and non-profit organizations, they represent the world's most comprehensive source of business knowledge.
Small Business Resources
SDGOV Business Information Gateway
Here you will find general information relative to starting, growing, operating or closing a business in South Dakota. The lists are not all-inclusive. There may be additional steps involved according to your type of business. Contact the Governor's Office of Economic Development to learn more.
US Small Business Administration Business Guide
SBA guides on planning, launching, managing, and growing a small business.
The $100 MBA
The $100 MBA Show has a simple premise: anyone can start and run a business, with the right information — no expensive degree required. With short, actionable business lessons, the podcast has gained a large and loyal following of aspiring entrepreneurs.
On its debut, the show held the #1 spot in four different categories for 5 consecutive weeks in iTunes’. Later that year, in December of 2014, Apple named The $100 MBA Show a “Best of iTunes” podcast.
Since then, the show has been awarded “#1 Work Smarter Podcast” by Apple and named one of the top business podcast in the world by Forbes, Fast Company, Entrepreneur, Time and Inc.
Ask a Manager
Blog and podcast providing insights into how managers and interviewers think. Episodes 2010-2021.
Exchanges at Goldman Sachs
Exchanges at Goldman Sachs is a podcast where experts from around the firm discuss developments shaping industries, markets and the global economy
Knowlege @ Wharton
Discussing topics that matter to consumers and the business world based on research, conferences, speakers, books and interviews with faculty and other experts on global business topics.
The McKinsey Podcast
A business and management podcast featuring conversations with leading experts. The series features topics ranging from leadership and change management to digital, analytics and deep-dives into specific regions and industries.
The Soul of Enterprise
A weekly radio show/podcast. Includes guests and current topics for professional firms. Business in the knowledge economy.
The Tim Ferriss Show
The Tim Ferriss Show is often the #1 business podcast on all of Apple Podcasts, and it’s been ranked #1 out of 500,000+ podcasts on many occasions. It is the first business/interview podcast to pass 100,000,000 downloads, it has been selected as “Best of” Apple Podcasts for three years running, and readers of Fortune Magazine‘s Term Sheet recently selected The Tim Ferriss Show as their top business podcast. It has now surpassed 700M downloads.
Bloomberg Radio Shows
Podcasts produced by Bloomberg including Markets, Businessweek, MBA, Technology.
Business OER (Open Educational Resources)
Economics for Life Real-World Financial Literacy Textbook
Donald T. Wargo is an Associate Professor of Instruction at Temple University. Prior to his teaching career, he held executive positions in a number of large real estate companies in the Philadelphia area, including vice president of finance and president. For fifteen of those years, he ran his own development company, Wargo Properties, Inc.
Freely Accessible Business Journals
Freely Accessible Business Journals compiled by the Library of Congress.
MERLOT Business Case Studies
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
MIT Open Courseware - Entrepreneurship
Courses representing a selection of the entrepreneurship-related courses offered at MIT. The courses are organized in two ways: Core courses, the starting points for entrepreneurs and Supplemental courses, important once the basics have been mastered
Native Case Studies
Case Studies Featuring Business and Management from a Native American perspective.
OER Commons - Open Textbooks in Business and Communications
The tens of thousands of open resources on OER Commons are free - and they will be forever - but building communities to support them, developing new collections, and creating infrastructure to grow the open community isn’t. Grassroots donations from people like you can help us transform teaching and learning.
OpenStax Textbooks - Business
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
And backed by additional learning resources. Review our OpenStax textbooks and decide if they are right for your course. Simple to adopt, free to use. We make it easy to improve student access to higher education.
Open Textbook Library - Business
The Open Textbook Library was started so that faculty could find open textbooks in one place. More technically, the Open Textbook Library is a comprehensive referatory that points to open textbooks by a variety of authors and publishers.