Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Started: Background Resources
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc. are often a great way to start your research. They can help you understand your research topic, define terms that may appear in scholarly journal articles, and gather background information to build context.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new windowA full-text online reference service, CREDO contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
How Do I...?
How Do I...?
Answers for our most frequently asked questions (FAQs).
Beginning Your Research: General Resources
These resources provide access to magazine, newspaper and scholarly articles on a variety of topics.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database with full text in many topics including the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, documents, and other materials from newspapers, business and trade journals, general interest magazines, company reports, legal and tax documents.
JSTOR Security Studies This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowA general reference database containing full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
Citing Your Sources - APSA
Zotero Quick Box
Zotero helps you collect, manage, & cite sources.
For additional tutorials, visit our Zotero Guide.