Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All Hours

Music: Resources

Find Books

Search the Library Catalog to find books, ebooks, and more available at Mikkelsen Library. Your search can be expanded to include items from libraries around the world. 

Library materials are organized using the Library of Congress Classification System. The beginning letters of each call number represent the subject of the book. Browse the following call numbers to discover music books or check out the Library of Congress Classification Guide to Music Call Numbers for more detail.

M - Music

ML - Literature on Music

MT - Instruction and Study


Guide to Finding Items in the Library

Find eBooks

Find Articles

Best databases for Music resources including reference sources and scholarly articles


Multidisciplinary databases including newspapers, magazines, and scholarly articles

Online Resources

Digital Collections from the Library of Congress Music Division

Includes manuscripts, books, recordings, photos, and more covering a wide array of musical styles and topics.

MusRef

A guide to print and internet music resources including in-depth bibliographies, composer/performer websites, links to online journals, and more.

Copyright Resources

View resources and guides about copyright and publishing music from the Music Publishers Association of the United States (MPA)

Scores

International Music Score Library Project

A collaborative music project which aims to provide music scores free of charge to anyone with internet access. Includes music in the public domain as well as music from composers who are willing to share their work with the world without charge.

Juilliard Manuscript Collection

An extraordinary collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions. Among its highlights are the late engraver’s proof of Beethoven’s Symphony no. 9, with hundreds of markings and annotations by the composer; the original manuscript of Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge, in his arrangement for piano, 4 hands; and, the last scene of Mozart’s Le Nozze di Figaro. Also available are selected manuscripts from the Juilliard Library’s Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, including scores in the Artur Rubinstein Music Collection.

Sibley Music Library: Musical Scores
The University of Rochester's Sibley Music Library is the largest academic music library in North America. The library has digitized almost 12,000 publications including scores, books, and theses. Resources continue to be added to this database which is made available free of charge.