- INFORMATION FOR
- RESEARCH
- SERVICES
Theatre: Home
Get Started: Background Resources
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc. are often a great way to start your research. They can help you understand your research topic, define terms that may appear in scholarly journal articles, and gather background information to build context.
- CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window A full-text online reference service, CREDO contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
How Do I...?
- How Do I...?Answers for our most frequently asked questions (FAQs).
Beginning Your Research: General Article Resources
These resources provide access to magazine, newspaper and scholarly articles on a variety of topics.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window General purpose databases of general/popular publications and scholarly journals. Includes information in many areas of academic study including the social sciences, humanities, general sciences, and education.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Books & ebooks
Scholarly Sources
- MLA Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature in journal articles e-journals, scholarly web sites, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Full text access to a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window A digital archive includes more than 3,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.
Streaming Media
- Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Digital Theatre Plus shares the best of British theatre with teachers and students all over the world. It captures the moments before the curtain rises and after the curtain falls, providing valuable insight into the play making process. The resource provides access to the hidden drama of the weeks, days, and hours before "lights up" on stage. By revealing the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, our documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides access to streaming videos in the Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health and Science.
- PBS Video Library This link opens in a new window
Citing Your Sources - MLA
Librarian
