Mikkelsen Library: FYS 111: FYS Conover

Resources for Background Information

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window A full-text online reference service, CREDO contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window 150+ academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries with 240+ in-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s Encyclopedias and Companions.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window A digital archive includes more than 3,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window General purpose databases of general/popular publications and scholarly journals. Includes information in many areas of academic study including the social sciences, humanities, general sciences, and education.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window Full text articles, documents, and other materials from newspapers, business and trade journals, general interest magazines, company reports, legal and tax documents.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Locate books, videos/DVDs, sound recordings, journals/magazines/newspapers & government documents available at Mikkelsen Library. Your search can be expanded to search libraries around the world.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window A growing and changing collection of 160,000+ e-books in many different academic subject areas including business, education, history, life sciences, medicine, psychology, religion and social sciences.

New York Times Current This link opens in a new window Full-text for Jun 1, 1980 - present
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window Full text access to the New York Times from 1851-2013.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window The five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and global events.