CREDO ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowA full-text online reference service, CREDO contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
Oxford ReferenceThis link opens in a new window150+ academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries with 240+ in-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s Encyclopedias and Companions.
Articles & Books
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database with full text in many topics including the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
ERIC (from EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowProvides extensive access to educational-related literature from journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowA digital archive includes more than 3,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.
ProQuestThis link opens in a new windowSearch a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines including psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
SocIndex with Full-TextThis link opens in a new windowCovers rural & urban sociology, social psychology, social work, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, social development, social structure, socio-cultural anthropology, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, substance abuse & other addictions, & violence.
Library CatalogThis link opens in a new windowLocate books, videos/DVDs, sound recordings, journals/magazines/newspapers & government documents available at Mikkelsen Library. Your search can be expanded to search libraries around the world.
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowA growing and changing collection of 160,000+ e-books in many different academic subject areas including business, education, history, life sciences, medicine, psychology, religion and social sciences.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)This link opens in a new windowFull text articles, documents, and other materials from newspapers, business and trade journals, general interest magazines, company reports, legal and tax documents.
US Major DailiesThis link opens in a new windowThe five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and global events.
US NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowThe most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sitest--includes Argus Leader.