Getting Started: Background Resources
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Key Services
Research Help
Librarians are available to assist with your research. The library is open over 90 hours per week. There is always a staff member available and librarians are scheduled at the reference desk M-Th 10am-5pm, 6pm-10pm, Fri 10am-3pm, and Sun 2pm - 5pm, 6pm-9pm. You can chat, email (augielibrarians@augie.edu), call (605.247.4921), or book an appointment for a virtual or in person consultation.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If a source is not full-text or available in the library, you can request the item via ILL. A majority of our databases provide a link to request an article or book via ILL. You can also send information - name of author(s), publication date, article/journal or book title - to augustanaill@gmail.com
Articles are sent to your email within 2 to 4 days. You will be notified by email when a book is ready to pick up.
Off-Campus Access
Current students & faculty of Augie & Kairos have access to the library's electronic resources from off-campus. Use your myaugie/myseminary username/password. To view a video tutorial of this process, click here. If you have any problems, call us at 605.274.4921 or e-mail us at augielibrarians@augie.edu
How Do I?
- How Do I...?Answers for our most frequently asked questions (FAQs).
Beginning Your Research: General Resources
These resources provide access to magazine, newspaper and scholarly articles on a variety of topics.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window General purpose databases of general/popular publications and scholarly journals. Includes information in many areas of academic study including the social sciences, humanities, general sciences, and education.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Beginning Your Research: Library Catalog
Kewords
-
Acoustics Aged, Deaf
-
American Sign Language
-
Aphasia Children Aphasics
-
Captioning For The Deaf
-
Children, Deaf
-
Communicative Disorders Cued Speech
-
Deaf
-
Deafness
-
Fingerspelling
-
Hearing Disorders
-
Hearing Impaired
-
Interpreters For The Deaf
-
Language
-
Language Development
-
Languages Learning Disabilities
-
Linguistics Lipreading
-
Nonverbal Communication
-
Sign Language
-
Simultaneous Communication
-
Social Work With The Deaf
-
Teachers Of The Deaf
-
Telecommunications Devices For The Deaf
Article Databases
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Provides coverage of more than 500 journals in the communication and mass media fields, including full-text for more than 230 journals.
- ERIC (from EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Provides extensive access to educational-related literature from journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines including psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
- Google Scholar Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Zotero
Zotero helps you collect, manage, & cite sources.
For additional tutorials, visit our Zotero Guide.
