Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started: Background Resources
Credo Reference helps you start your media research with dictionaries of specialized terminology and reference guides on communications, journalism, and propaganda.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provids access to controversial topical essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
A general reference database containing full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
How Do I...?
How Do I...?
Answers for our most frequently asked questions (FAQs).
Beginning Your Research: General Article Resources
These resources provide access to magazine, newspaper and scholarly articles on a variety of topics.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database with full text in many topics including the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of more than 500 journals in the communication and mass media fields, including full-text for more than 230 journals.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to some of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning
Zotero helps you collect, manage, & cite sources.
For additional tutorials, visit our Zotero Guide.